By Jade Emory
Oahu Island News, October 2002

True Faces

There's an old saying that "Each of us has 4 faces: the face we show, the face we think we show, the face others see, and our true face".

The complex mosaic of placements in our birth charts determine the actual priorities of our lifestyles and they show our true face.

ARIES thinks and acts youthfully, even when older. It gets facelifts, drives fast red cars, starts new cycles in its life with courage and confidence.

TAURUS bases choices on inner values that often include material solvency, but are not necessarily materialistic. It wants outer beauty to reflect its sense of inner beauty.

GEMINI values knowlege, consciousness and wisdom. It may pursue teachings superficially, but when it "walks its talk", it gives substance to its words.

CANCER pefers an emotionally fulfilling lifestyle, ideally focused on family nurturing. Its vulnerability may harden its outer shell, like its symbol, the crab, but inside it's a softie.

LEO has great leadership ability, star quality and charisma. It may not perceive the transparency of its own agendas, and may need to trasnscend subjective identity (ego) in order to truly love.

VIRGO expresses love through service. Because it can easily criticize itself or others, its true face is shown by how it relates to animals and by its clean and orderly environment.

LIBRA values relationships. The partners it chooses are a barometer of its inner priorities. To know itself, it should ask,"What part of my character does each partner reflect?"

SCORPIO either is wonderfully generous with its resources, or expects others to be wonderfully generous with theirs. Intense and passionate, it may not always spend quality time sustaining associations, finding it easier to begin or end them.

SAGITTARIUS has a strong philosophical or religious focus. Sincere, it is a shining example of discipleship on a chosen path. If hypocritical, it learns the hard way that Higher Power hears every thought, and its true face will be an embarrassed one.

For CAPRICORN, power in the outer world should be less important than true inner power. Self-mastery bears more fruit than worldly ambition.

AQUARIUS perceives itself in the context of its community. Unselfish and humanitarian, it helps society evolve with its progressive ideas.

PISCES values solitude, and may isolate itself through drugs or alcohol. Its "savior" principle is strong and it focuses on underdogs, but it needs to develop discernment so that its help is intelligently directed.

Oahu Island News Contributing Editor Jade Emory holds degrees in psychology and education, has taught in American and Canadian universities and has been a counselor since 1970. She may be reached at 808-429-2411 or by email at

Go to the previous month
Go back home
Go to the next month