By Jade Emory
Oahu Island News, December 2003

Belief Systems

The 9th house of the birth chart shows our belief systems. Religions are the sacred side of the 9th house; philosophies are the secular side. Placements situated here offer options for growth in spiritual consciousness.

ARIES or Mars needs a path that elicits joyous enthusiasm and which eliminates anger. Aries applies its beliefs through social activism instead of merely theorizing. Sacred drumming stirs its soul.

TAURUS or Venus responds to Divinity, manifested as nature, honoring the Creator in creation. Devotional music and inspired art add to its reverence.

GEMIMI or Mercury finds that the best form in which to worship God is every form. Sacred mantras, affirmations and the elimination of duality strengthen devotion.

CANCER or the Moon needs a path that is psychologically applicable to the resolution of emotional concerns. The sanctity of earth itself offers Cancer spiritual energy.

LEO or the Sun seeks a path that cultivates both passion and compassion of its generous heart. It must avoid spiritual pride.

VIRGO finds that the grace of God works as healing. Subtle, spiritual connections with animals are valuable. A pure diet may be part of its spiritual discipline.

LIBRA cultivates a personal connection with the Divine and with attained masters, the essence of a true guru-disciple relationship. The primary purpose of its path is inner peace and an ethical life.

SCORPIO or Pluto has the strength and commitment to purify its character through the teachings of its belief system.

SAGITARIUS or Jupiter considers its belief system top priority. Rather than saving its devotions for sabbath, it consciously commits to daily application of its path’s teachings, so that it becomes a consistent expression of God’s love.

CAPRICORN or Saturn honors olden traditions that have stood the test of time. Powerfully self-disciplined, it trains its mind to respond rather than react.

AQUARIUS or Uranus explores theologies of different cultures. Seeking freedom from ego, it cultivates dispassion and non-attachment as expressions of spiritual attainment. The next 2000 years, the Aquarian Age, will teach us to universalize love inclusively.

PISCES or Neptune finds that meditation unites it with the divine, and from the validity of that mystical experience, reorients its understanding of its higher self. During the last 2000 years, the Piscean Age, forgiveness, mercy and tolerance were emphasized.

Oahu Island News Contributing Editor Jade Emory holds degrees in psychology and education, has taught in American and Canadian universities and has been a counselor since 1970. She may be reached at 808-429-2411 or by email at

Go to the previous month
Go back to the home page
Go to the next month