By Jade Emory
Oahu Island News, December 2005


December is a month of both spiritual and cultural celebrations. The first 3 weeks of December, the Sun is in Sagittarius, governing religion and philosophy. The last week, the Sun is in Capricorn, governing traditions.

Christians celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ, the Great Redeemer, who was conceived and born under miraculous circumstances, and who ultimately defied death by resurrecting in order to save humankind.

Jews celebrate Chanukah, an eight-day Festival of Lights, honoring the miracle of one day’s worth of oil providing light for eight days, and also the symbolic triumph of the few over the many, the weak over the strong, the pure over the impure.

Hindus also have a Celestial Festival of Light called Deva Diwali on December 2nd, and the celebration of Lord Dattatrey Jayanti’s birth December 15th, reputedly an incarnation of the Trinity of Brahma (the creative power of God), Vishnu (the sustaining power) and Shiva (the purifying power).

Native American tribes have many cultural holidays as well in December, including Shalako at Zuni Pueblo, and Hodenasani Thanksgiving.

African Americans celebrate Kwanzaa, dedicated to the seven principles of Blackness: Unity, Self-Determination, Collective Work and Responsibility, Cooperative Economics, Purpose, Creativity and Faith.

The winter solstice on December 21st is when the light returns, when the days slowly become longer.

Astrology, through the placement of Jupiter and the 9th House, shows how we can strengthen our own Light.

ARIES is a light itself. It is inspired and inspiring.

TAURUS is consistent in its path, responsive to devotional music and art.

GEMINI reads scriptures, repeats mantra, prayers and contemplates.

CANCER emotionally relates to its path, shares it with offspring.

LEO dances in joy in its path, but it must eliminate religious pride.

VIRGO finds a path involving healing and purity of diet.

LIBRA seeks a path exemplifying high ethics, not hypocrisy.

SCORPIO believes in miracles, because it is so extrasensory itself.

SAGITTARIUS is the consummate devotee, in love with the Divine.

CAPRICORN follows olden ways, strengthened by its roots in the past.

AQUARIUS seeks a path different from its original culture, one teaching egolessness.

PISCES is the compassionate champion of the underdog, meditating to merge with God.


Oahu Island News Contributing Editor Jade Emory holds degrees in psychology and education, has taught in American and Canadian universities and has been a counselor since 1970. She may be reached at 808-429-2411 or by email at

Go to Last Month
Go back to the home page
Go To Next Month